This site uses cookies, if you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies. Click here to learn how to change your cookie settings.


2017 Effie Awards UK Final Round Jury Announced

London, 21st March 2017 – The Effie Awards UK, in partnership with the International Advertising Association , award the most effective marketing efforts from each individual year.

This year Effie UK selected 26 finalists who all go forward to final round judging - the last step in a rigourous two-part judging process, which commences on Wednesday 22nd March at LinkedIn’s London offices. Approximately 80 senior executives across the industry form the 2017 Effie UK Final Round Jury. They will review the 26 finalist cases in great detail and agree on the most effective cases from the finalist pool. The winners will be announced at the Effie Awards UK Ceremony on 17th May 2017. This year’s Effie Awards UK are supported by The Financial Times, Four Graphics, Kantar TNS, LinkedIn and The Vision Network.

Nina Bibby, CMO of O2 (Telefonica UK) and this year’s Effie UK Jury Chair commented: ‘In a year where diversity is one of the key themes for the industry, the 2017 Effie UK First and Final Round juries comprise of an equal split of female and male executives. I am thrilled we’ve managed to achieve this. It is a theme close to my heart and I am pleased we are making a contribution to this important issue in our industry.’

Richard Robinson, Managing Partner of Oystercatchers and Women’s Business Council ‘Male Agent of Change’, who will be joining this year’s final round jury adds: ‘The Effie Awards UK are setting the benchmark for judging awards. Considering the Effies is only in its second year in the UK their ability to quickly achieve gender parity is a testament to their commitment to ensuring the most effective work will be decided by the most effective judging panel.’

Rachel Gott, from SheSays Who's Your Momma – an organisation running free mentorship to women in the creative & marketing industry – was delighted with the news: ‘This is great news for the industry. It is inspiring for the wider female audience to know that gender parity can exist and for them to see more women as role models. It is a powerful message clearly taken seriously by the UK Effie Awards'.

Ali Hanan, of Creative Equals, commented ‘It is no secret adland is still struggling with the diversity issue, but I am strongly encouraged by the number of experienced women who will be taking part in the final round judging. This year just over 50% of the final round judges will be women, which goes to show that gender balance can be achieved as long as there is a real drive behind this issue. I am told that gender parity was also achieved for the first round jury of this year’s UK Effies, which is really a superb effort.’

This year Effie UK are delighted to reveal the final round jury who will be responsible for deciding this year’s winners. The final round judges bring a wealth of experience and expertise from brand, agency, and media owner backgrounds.

The 2017 final round judges, listed in alphabetical order by surname, are:


Louise Ainsworth

Kantar Millward Brown

Rory Gallery - McGarryBowen

Nicky Owen

Credit Suisse

Alex Steer


Manaaz Akhtar – Marketing Consultant

Chris Gallery


Ed Palmer

St Luke's

Rebecca Strong - Mother

Jonathan Akwue - DigitasLBi

Neil Godber

J Walter Thompson

Sean Parkin


Matt Tanter - Grey London

Ash Bendelow


Natalie Graeme

Victoria Partridge - American Express

Sara Tate - Mother

Martin Beverley - adam&eveDDB

Ali Hanan

Creative Equals

Jamie Peate


Cindy Tervoort - Heineken

Fredrik Borestrom - LinkedIn

James Hankins

Manning Gottlieb OMD

John Pentin - Smartology

Naomi Troni

MullenLowe Group

Nicky Bullard


Sarah Hardy


Nick Pugh


Clarissa Valiquette - Pearson

Americo Campos Silva - Shell

Steve Hastings


David Pugh-Jones - The Smalls

Alex Van Gestel - Verbalisation

Mythili Chandrasekar

J Walter Thompson

Fleur Holcroft –


Arianne Riddell - LinkedIn

Grainne Wafer - Diageo

Harvey Cossell

We Are Social

Vicki Holgate

FCB Inferno

Richard Robinson - Oystercatchers

Joanna Wallace - Publicis

Peter Dann

The Nursery

Laura Jordan Bambach

Mr President

Vikki Ross

Vikki Ross Writes Ltd

Rose Wangen-Jones

J Walter Thompson

Carolan Davidge

British Heart Foundation

Claire Kelly

Spectrum Brands Ltd

Alice Schaffer

J Walter Thompson

Anja Weise-O'Connor - Inquisitive Minds Consulting

Ceren Doganay-Karaca - Facebook

Vasileios Kourakis


Nicholas Shepherd - Consultant

Katherine Wheeler

J.P. Morgan Asset Management

Steve Doyle

InSkin Media

Gabriela Lungu


James Shoreland

Blue 449

Simon Whitehead - Teads

Michael Dwan

Amazon Advertising

Aimee Luther


Richard Shotton - Manning Gottlieb OMD

Ben Wicks

Mondelez International

Paul Dyson

D2D Limited

Hannah Mirza


Paul Sinclair


Pauline Wilson - Virgin Holidays

Sarah Ellis


Kate Moorcroft

Kate Moorcroft Consultancy

Justin Skinner - Cineworld Cinemas

Lisa Wood

Atom Bank

Meg Farren -


Clare Moore

Cancer Research UK

Martin Smith - Geometry Global

Tim Wragg - Kantar

Daniele Fiandaca - Creative Social

Mobbie Nazir

We Are Social

Jenny Southwell


Nadine Young - Starcom

Eric Fulwiler - VaynerMedia

Louise Nolder

Secret Escapes

Adam Stagliano



Download the press release here

Supporting Sponsors

FT Kantar TNS sponsor LinkedIn The Vision Network